And we’re back…..Weekly Meal Plan

Sorry for being MIA for so long.  We moved, unpacked to the point where it’s livable, and then played tourist in our own city when a couple friends from college visited.  Our days during their visit were fun but boy were they full.  Spending the day at Disneyland (and the gigantic cookies and cream ice cream cone I indulged in), the Warner Brothers Studio Tour, touring Robinson Helicopter Company, sightseeing around Portuguese Bend, and visiting the Bruery (Not to be confused with a winery, like I did.  For some reason I thought it was going to be in a pretty setting.  Instead it was adjacent to a freeway but my Sour in the Rye certainly made up for the lack of scenery) were some of the highlights of their visit.  As with most visits, of course, it wasn’t long enough but I guess it gives us another visit to look forward to.

I will say, the Indiana Jones Ride in Disneyland and the Radiator Springs Racers (even though, the line was crazy long) in California Adventure were my favorite rides.  Check out the lighting of the Radiator Springs Racers ride at night!  If you’re going to do it, I think it’s even more magical to wait until it’s dark.

photo (67)

photo (69)

I love pictures of people riding rides!

Did you know, Warner Brothers has over 2 miles worth of shoes!!!  I’m not really a big television show watcher but I found just seeing the sets and how they can be transformed into many different types of scenes interesting.  I would recommend going but the tours fill up so I would get your tickets before you go.

Anyways, with moving and friends visiting, meal planning didn’t really happen.  So, I happily looked through recipes and landed on some of our old favorites to make for dinner this week.  We’ve had a rare three days of rain and I think this weather pattern influenced my meal planning.  We’ve got lots of soup on the menu this week.

menuplanningchallengebutton

Sunday- New Year’s Noodle Soup made with kidney beans instead of borlotti beans.

newyear_noodle_soup_recipe_xl

(Photo Credit- 101 Cookbooks website)

Monday- leftover soup

Tuesday- Orange-Maple Glazed Salmon with roasted sweet potato, broccoli, and a kale salad

Wednesday- Sweet Potato and Sausage Soup made with Field Roast italian sausage, vegetable broth, and whole wheat pasta shells

191ff25c47a3f00aeeb6bbf60388af9b

(Photo Credit- Shutterbean website)

Thursday- leftover soup

Friday- Shrimp tacos with roasted broccoli, and a kale salad

I like the freeze our leftover soup for Cathrine to bring to work for lunch.

Hope you all have a wonderful Sunday!  I’ve off to make a simple brunch for us before starting the day.  What’s on your menu this week?

4 thoughts on “And we’re back…..Weekly Meal Plan

Leave a Reply

