Lime Avocado Salad with Red Pepper and Tomatoes

Whenever I’ve been travelling, I always look forward to getting back into eating healthy when I get back.  I certainly let myself indulge a bit while I am away.  Sweets and carbs are probably the places where I splurge the most.  And I’m known to take advantage of the free snacks and drinks offered in the airport lounges and eat things like cheese and crackers, yogurt covered pretzels, salty snack mix along with a glass of white wine.  It helps with any flying jitters.    

We have been travelling quite a bit lately and while I enjoy exploring news places and nice dinners out, what I was calling my “summer of indulgence” has turned into a “fall of indulgence” and I’m feeling like it’s time to get back on track.

For the past two days, I’ve made this simple salad for lunch.  It’s quick to make with the perfect amount of citrus to give it a pop of flavor when you take a bit.

Lime Avocado Salad with Red Pepper and Tomatoes

(Inspired by Whole Living Avocado with Bell Peppers and Tomatoes recipe)

Salad

Ingredients: 

1/2 a red pepper

1 avocado

Splash of lime juice

Pinch of salt

5-6 cherry tomatoes

Handful of mixed baby greens

Small bunch of microgreens

Steps:

Slice avocado in half and scoop the filling into a small bowl.  Chop half of a red pepper into bit size pieces and place in the bowl with the avocado.  Pour a splash of lime juice on top of the avocado and red pepper and add a pinch of salt.  Mix thoroughly.  Put a handful of baby greens and a couple pinches of microgreens into a bowl.  Place the avocado and red pepper salad on top.  Slice 6 cherry tomatoes in half and place them on the top.  Enjoy!

*Serves one

Leave a Reply

