Honey Coconut Roasted Acorn Squash

Fall in Southern California is somewhat different than the fall I am accustomed to.  Even though I’ve lived here for three years, each year I still find myself longing for fall.  The fall I remember from the east coast- the crisp air, blue skies, colorful mountain and hill sides, crunchy leaves, lots of hiking, fresh apples, pumpkin farms, dried corn stalks, scarves, sweaters, tall boots, I could go on.  Here, it takes a bit more effort to foster a feeling of fall, especially since it has been in the mid-80’s this week!  It’s not quite time for scarves, sweaters, and boots……at least, not yet.  For some of the elements that I find myself missing, I need to remember patience.  That in a few weeks or months, I too will be able to wear a cozy scarf but for now, I should enjoy my shorts and sundresses for a bit longer.  For others, we work to create and savor them in our household.  

After a recent trip to Massachusetts, we brought back Mackintosh apples, fresh ginger, and garlic from the local farmer’s market.  I enjoyed an apple every day for almost two weeks.  Since living in California, I’ve found myself loving Mackintosh apples even more than before I moved.  I think I always took their constant presence for granted.  

One way we enjoy fall is in the kitchen.  Making plenty of squash and pumpkin dishes.  This roasted acorn squash roasted with honey, coconut oil, and thyme has been a favorite lately.  We first made it a couple of weeks ago and since then, we have already made it three more times, because it is just THAT good.  This last time was the first time that I was able to get a picture.  Each of the previous times, we ate it too quickly for me to snap a picture.

Acorn Squash

Honey Coconut Roasted Acorn Squash

Ingredients:

1 acorn squash

1 tablespoon melted coconut oil

1 generous tablespoon melted raw honey

1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

1/2 teaspoon dried thyme

Steps:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Wash and cut the acorn squash in half.  Remove the seeds (save for roasting later).  Place the squash in a shallow baking dish with the center facing up.  Mix the melted coconut oil, melted raw honey, apple cider vinegar, and dried thyme in a small bowl.  Divide the sauce evenly between the two squash halves, pouring into the center.  Using a brush, coat the inside of the squash with the sauce.  Bake until the squash is soft, approximately 40 to 60 minutes.  Every 20 minutes, use a brush to coat the squash with the sauce.  Enjoy!

* For the seeds- I wash them and then roast them for 5-10 minutes on a rimmed metal baking sheet at 400 degrees.  You can top them with this about anything- I’ve done salt, pepper, and smoked paprika.

 

Leave a Reply

